Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Sun is Late and so is the Farmer by Philip C. and Erin E. Stead

The Sun is Late and so is the Farmer by Philip C. and Erin E. Stead

Regular price $29.00 AUD
Regular price Sale price $29.00 AUD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

On a peculiarly long night, three farm animals set off on a daring quest to bring the sunrise.

Fans of Erin and Philip C. Stead’s books will instantly love this quirky barnyard trio’s magical quest to bring the sunrise in the style of their previous animal books A Sick Day for Amos McGee and Bear Has a Story to Tell.

A mule,
A milk cow,
A miniature horse,
Standing in a barn door,
Waiting for the sun to rise.

As this trio rests in their comfortable barn, a realization slowly dawns on them. . .  the sun is late to rise.

After consulting the barn owl (who always knows what to do), they take Rooster and set off on an epic journey further than they’ve ever gone before; through the acre of tall corn, past the sleeping giant, all the way to the edge of the world.

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

Reviews

★ “The Steads have created an environment as whimsical and kind as the one that nurtured Amos McGee. . . . A gentle array of soft colours and sweet animal faces quickly engages readers. Onomatopoeia, descriptive phrases, and repetition make this a very endearing reading experience for all. . . .  This meets all the expectations one has of this duo.”—School Library Journal, Starred Review

★ “Beautifully illustrated. . . . An endearing new folktale from the Caldecott-winning duo.”—Booklist, Starred Review

★  ”Waste no time in adding this gem to the storytime shelf.”—Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

Age: 3-7

Format: Hardback

Publication Date: November 2022

Age: 3-6 years

Format:

Number of pages:

Publisher:

Publication Date:

SKU:9780823444281

View full details

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
  • Free Shipping

    Free standard shipping via Australia Post when you spend over $99. This offer cannot be used with other offers

  • Family Owned Business

    Thank you for shopping with us. We are a small family owned business based in Sydney, Australia.

  • Fast Shipping

    We aim to get your order to you as soon as possible. Orders will be sent on the same business day if ordered before 12:00pm